Professional Baseball Contract

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Image

When I first began writing, I was on a plane headed to Australia. Now I find myself, again, at the airport, except this time with a slightly different mindset and a much shorter flight. I traveled to Australia to continue to work on my baseball skills, but also to experience a new part of the world. Now, I am heading to the Northeast with a more singular purpose.

When I dream about being a professional baseball player, I don’t think about the packed stadiums, autograph-seeking kids, chartered flights, and certainly not the paycheck. What I dream about is the ten hour days spent at the ball park lifting weights, base-running, bunting, throwing, fielding and hitting. And doing all that before the first pitch is even thrown. At about two in the afternoon yesterday, my dream became a lot more real, when I signed a professional contract with the Southern Illinois Miners of the Frontier League.

The Miners are a long ways from the Major Leagues. They are a member of the Frontier League, the oldest independent professional baseball association in the country. Indy ball is a destination for players that get cut from minor and major league rosters or players like me who are looking for an opportunity to improve. All of us are trying to get to or get back to affiliated baseball, that is, affiliated with a major league organization. This route is certainly not the one I imagined growing up. I didn’t even know something like this even existed. But things never work out exactly the way you think.

I’ve always had big dreams, but I’ve learned to set goals that are just in front of me and work my absolute ass off to achieve them. Right now, my goal is to make the opening day roster for the Miners. Spring Training begins May 1st. Even though I have signed a contract, I can be released any day for any reason. Not the job security that most people seek out of college, but I couldn’t be happier. For the next four and a half months, I will pour everything I have into every single day to prepare myself for the upcoming season, my first season as a professional baseball player in the US.

There are so many people that have helped me get to the point where I am today. I have acknowledged many of these people here. Without my friends, families, and coaches, I would not be where I am today. But most of all, I want to thank my parents. My mom and dad have been so supportive of me and my passion for playing baseball. In addition, you are two of the hardest-working people I know. You have shown me that the only way to achieve anything worthwhile is through hard work. Thank you so much.

I don’t know about y’all, but I’m about to get after it. Let’s go!

Comments
  1. Annie B. Williams says:

    I am so proud of you. AB

  2. Ed Booth says:

    I hope that some day you will turn these writings into a book. You have a way with words that most “jocks” would never understand. Good luck and leave those high hard ones alone.
    Ed Booth Marco Island, Fl.(Keeping up with you through your grand parents)

Leave a Reply

