My Last Week in Australia

Posted: November 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

Image

In the introduction to my blog, I said that baseball has been the “it” that I have been getting after for most of my life. I, also, said I have realized that there is more to life than baseball. And so Australia would be the perfect opportunity to get after baseball, while enjoying the thrills and excitements of new experiences in a new country. 

What I have recently recognized, though, is that in order for me to be happy, I need to know deep down that I am doing everything I can to achieve my baseball goals. Over the last few weeks, the feeling that I could be doing more has been building. I have, therefore, with the support of my friends and family, created an opportunity to completely commit myself to training at the Elite Baseball Development Program at Cressey Performance in Boston (http://www.cresseyperformance.com/services/elite-baseball-development-program/). For now, I believe that moving to Boston and working with those guys will give me the best opportunity to succeed. So I will be boarding a plane on Thursday for Nashville to exchange my board shorts for sweatpants and to prepare myself to get after it like I never have before.

While figuring all of this out this week, I grinded out my class work for my fitness certification, played two baseball games and tried to soak in as much of Australia as possible.

My course continued to interest me and inspire me to learn more about fitness. After I complete a few tests online, I will be officially licensed as an Australian something-or-another. The certification does not translate directly to the United States, so what I will be taking most from the class is a newfound interest in the science behind training. As I said before, it probably won’t be the last time I study it.

On the field this week, we salvaged a tie in game one against Ryde, and then came back and destroyed them on Saturday night. A few highlights from the week were Fox’s inside-the-park grand slam, BJ’s four hit performance, Rod’s Herculean plays at short and intimidating plate presence, solid pitching from the staff, ultimate consistency from Daniel in every aspect of the game, and obviously some unreal coaching decisions by Timmy. I couldn’t have asked for better teammates and coaches. You guys have made my time here. Thank you so much and I can’t wait to follow you guys as you roll to a State League championship.

Looking forward to my last three days, I’ll be trying to experience the area as much as possible. So obviously that means that I’m going surfing Monday and Tuesday. On Wednesday, I’ll be climbing the Sydney Bridge and hopefully fitting in the zoo so I can see some dang Kangaroos. I’ll be taking lots of pictures that I’m hoping will keep me warm during the US winter.

Finally, I have really had such a great time in Australia and I know that if I stayed, I would continue to enjoy myself. Coming back to the states to train is just something that I really want and have to do right now. I am so thankful for everyone that has made my experience out here so great. For those of you that I will be leaving, enjoy some sun for me and get after that title!

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

