Cut

Posted: October 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

“You can’t always control circumstances. However, you can always control your attitude, approach, and response. Your options are to complain or to look ahead and figure out how to make the situation better.” – Tony Dungy

Last night, I heard the words that no player ever wants to hear: “We’re not going to be able to keep you on the team.” I don’t really know how to describe that feeling. It’s kind of like someone just kicked you in the stomach. It’s hard to breathe and swallow, let alone talk. I wasn’t really able to think about anything or formulate any sort of reasonable questions to ask. All I could manage was a thank you for the opportunity, as my mind was racing.

Twenty-four hours later, it still hurts pretty badly. Thinking rationally about the Blue Sox situation, I would have had to do something absolutely incredible to make the team. They already were over the roster limit before I got there. Their ultimate goal is to have a team full of Australian players win the league. The Blue Sox want to prepare many of their young players for the future. There are several former pro or current pro guys on the team that are going to play merely because of their affiliations with major league teams. And there are guys who have been around for a long time that the coaches just know. Nevertheless, it still hurts.

I am starting to feel a little better though. As Tony Dungy says, you can’t control outside circumstances, you can only control your response. I put my best foot forward with the Blue Sox and their decision was ultimately, out of my control. My attitude, approach and response are totally up to me. Coach told me that they want me to stay in shape and continue to play for the club team. Injuries and other situations come up during a season and the team will need to get new players. That could be my opportunity. But who knows. It is out of my control. All I can do is dominate club ball. And on Saturday, my club team happens to be…scrimmaging the Blue Sox. Are you kidding me? Let’s go!

Life outside of baseball has been interesting, as well. Today was my first day installing garage doors. You should have seen me try and use one of those power tools. I got some work to do. I’ll be back at it again tomorrow. One thing is for sure, I can only get better.

Comments
  1. Matt Leonard says:

    Keep getting after it and something will come your way. Good things happen to good people. Show them what they are missing out on. And dont forget to have some fun for me!

Leave a Reply

