Walk-off Win

Posted: October 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Image

While our celebration was not quite like this picture, down one run in the bottom of the tenth, we, the Manly Eagles, battled back with two runs for a walk-off victory*. Today was my first game with the club team, and my first opportunity to meet everybody. The guys are great and I can tell I will really enjoy playing with them this summer.

I played second base today and flashed some leather (made some good plays). I was hitless in my first four at bats. I was getting good pitches to hit but just not barreling them. Down a run in the tenth, though, I led off with a classic Jonny flair over the third baseman, and scored the tying run. BJ, our 4 hole hitter, then finished it off with a single down the left field line.

After the game, I experienced my first ever true Australian dinner over at Tim’s (my coach) parents’ house. Lamb, beef, sweet potato, pumpkin, green beans, broccoli, carrots, and some chocolate cake and Cadbury candy for Tim’s birthday. His family has been unbelievably hospitable to me and made the transition so easy.

I have a big week up ahead with baseball. Practice on Monday and Tuesday. Club game on Wednesday. Practice on Thursday and Friday. Let you know how it goes!

*Walk-off Victory – when the home team wins a game in the last inning. The team on the field, who has just lost, WALKS OFF the field, hence…walk-off.

Comments
  1. Lindsay says:

    Flashing some leather! So exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

